Profound

Audio

 

There’s occasional drinking

And smoke in the air

Mild inebriation

Under halogen filaments

And dim nightly skies

And then there’s you

 

There’s something about you

And the way you move, talk, breathe, exist

Something that makes me want to throw my life

In a dirty kitchen sink

I’d throw in the towel

If I was to ever see you again

 

Most things remain uncertain

Weather updates, cloud hacks,

Existential turmoil

And somehow at the end of the day

The mind crawls to you

It shouldn’t

 

I’d be a psychopath to imagine things

We’ve met twice

Gotten drunk once

Chasing shadows is fun

What cars are to sleeping dogs

And what lights are to moths

What capitalism is to men

Is what you are to me

You are profound

 

You’re the feeling of Friday

On a sunny 3 PM Wednesday

You’re a midweek game on TV

When it’s a lousy Sunday

You’re many things

And you’re one person

You are profound

 

You’re merely an idea

You’re a self-proclaimed piece of work

You’ve got cracks all over you

You are profound

And you owe me drinks

 

Leave a comment